Why Choose Vegan Gluten-Free Cookies?
There are few things more satisfying than offering a vegan cookie to someone who has never had one. You instantly watch their face go from pure skepticism to pure bliss. Adding a gluten-free version to the mix doesn’t take much additional convincing, either. They are packed with similar ingredients that preserve the delicious flavor of the cookies, without the potentially harmful side effects of the gluten.
Gluten-Free Cookies vs. Regular Cookies
The main difference between baking gluten-free cookies and regular cookies has to do with the use of wheat flour. Wheat flour is known for its consistency in various areas. This includes its consistent taste, consistent texture, and the way it consistently behaves when baked. While some people might view this as an advantage, it can actually become quite boring.
A gluten-free cookie recipe offers the chance to play with various flours that provide a variety of different tastes. Some have a stronger taste while others are sweeter, and some even have a nuttier flavor. When you first begin to dive into gluten-free and dairy-free recipes, you will need to do some experimentation to discover what flour alternatives you enjoy working with the most.
What Is Vegan Baking?
While many people turn to gluten-free baking due to health concerns, such as celiac disease, others turn to vegan baking out of their commitment to live a cruelty-free life. After all, vegan baking requires that no ingredients derived from animals are used. This means no eggs and no butter, two of the most prominent ingredients used in baking.
Is Chocolate Vegan?
The simple answer is yes. Chocolate itself is basically derived from beans that exist within the pod of the cocoa tree. In fact, we offer a variety of vegan chocolate recipes here on Nutrition Realm. Each recipe contains the right kind of chocolate, which leads us to a more complicated answer.
The more complicated answer is that chocolate is very often not vegan-friendly. This is because of the methods that take place between the time it is derived from the plant to the time it is delivered to the grocery store. There are usually several additives mixed into the final product. These additives typically include a dairy-based fat or solid, like milk.
What’s the Difference Between Vegan and Gluten-Free?
A vegan lifestyle is often a moral choice made by animal lovers who have serious concerns about animal cruelty. By leading a life where they do not consume animal products, they feel they are doing their best to be a part of the solution, rather than a part of the problem. Vegans do not consume or wear any products that are derived from animals.
Gluten-free is sometimes the choice of those seeking a healthier lifestyle. More often than not, though, it is a choice that those who have celiac disease make to alleviate their symptoms. Gluten-free means avoiding protein gluten, which is found in wheat and certain other types of grain.
How to Make Vegan Gluten-Free Cookies
Don’t let yourself be intimidated by gluten-free cookies. They are not as difficult to make as they once were. Nowadays, there are so many excellent alternatives available for gluten-free and dairy-free desserts that make it easier than ever. The same is true of vegan options.
Most importantly, you will just want to stay clear of any products derived from animals. This includes baking staples like milk, butter, and eggs. You will also want to stay away from wheat and certain types of grains containing protein gluten. An easy to use recipe will help guide you through the process.